“…images and sense impressions are exactly that, never the real thing, making it difficult to distinguish memory images from those produced by the imagination.”

from Joan Gibbons, Contemporary Art and Memory, Images of Recollection and Remembrance, (London; I.B Tauris &Co. Ltd, 2009) p.2

Julian Walker;

Miyako Ishiuchi;

George Legrady;
“…Legrady explores the narrative, even fictional, potential of objects-or, rather, of that of their photographic representation- which, for me, becomes more theatrical in its staging.”

from Joan Gibbons, Contemporary Art and Memory, Images of Recollection and Remembrance, (London; I.B Tauris &Co. Ltd, 2009) p.136

Zoe Sheehan;

Christian Boltanski;
“…The stuff of these ‘archival’ pieces is made up of personal possessions and photographs, though not all the possessions are genuine in origin, which sets up an ironically deceptive juxtaposition of fiction and authenticity.”

from Joan Gibbons, Contemporary Art and Memory, Images of Recollection and Remembrance, (London; I.B Tauris &Co. Ltd, 2009) p.76-77

Duane Michals;

“(There Are Things Here Not Seen in This Photograph): My shirt was wet with perspiration. The beer tasted good, but I was still thirsty. Some drunk was talking loudly to another drunk about Nixon. I watched a roach walk slowly along the edge of a barstool. On the jukebox, Glenn Campbell began to sing about “Southern Nights.” I needed to go to the men’s room. A derelict began to walk towards me to ask for money. It was time to leave.”

John Stezaker;

Jane Waggoner Deschner;

Julie Cockburn;

Maurizio Anzeri;

Eva Eun-Sil Han;

